About Us

Here at The Red Beat, we aim to give a different perspective on the world of sports and pop culture.

As a contributor, we want the perspective that makes you unique. Whether that be about the hot topics or  a topic that means something to you that you want the world to have perspective on. There are no limits when it comes to sports and pop culture. On this platform, we want to give contributors the outlet to express their thoughts and beliefs on sports and pop culture.

We aim to push the boundaries when it comes to producing content for students in the digital realm. Whether it be visual, audio or written there are creative ways to get across the point you are trying to make. Don’t be afraid to push your creative boundaries when it comes to producing content. The moment you become afraid is the moment your content suffers.

Push yourself, put your personality and uniqueness on display, refine your skills as a producer of digital content, and have fun.

Greg Armstrong

Founding Editor

Jordan Mitchell

The Red Beat is a student-run and operated website. The site gives students at SUNY Cortland an opportunity to create original content for the web while developing their media abilities in a structured, professional environment. The site operators are advised by faculty members in the Sport Management Department at SUNY Cortland.  

To contact one of our writers or for more information about contributing to the site please contact us below.

MASTHEAD (click to contact us on Twitter or via email)


Editor-in-Chief  Jordan Mitchell
Assistant Editor-in-Chief Dominic Ricotta
Deputy Editor (Cortland Sports) Jared Grey
Deputy Editors (Culture) Justin Fried & Josh Finkelstein
Deputy Editor (Pro Sports) Josh Finkelstein, Justin Fried, & John Newell
Senior Podcast Editor Jared Grey
Senior Video Editor  Anthony Milano
Contributors Jaime Broitman, Michael Connors, John Fenty, Charles Flug, Ryan Havlik, Michael Hayden, Katelyn Kovacs,  Lauren Kreda, Jacob LeBlanc, Gabriel Mason, Chris Merante, Joe Michaud, James Reborn, Timothy Sullivan,  Aaron Taff, Dylan Thomas, Connor Trebendis
Editor in Chief Emeritus  Greg Armstrong
Former Contributors Nicole Birsner, Jessica Burg, Hailie Chandler, Taulie Frierson, Erin Locascio, Joe Magnavita, Shawn Zinn
Faculty Advisors Dr. Tara Mahoney and Dr. Ryan Vooris